One here…one to go….

setup of NEMO Morpho inflatable airbeam tent i...

Image via Wikipedia

Enlarge the place of your tent, stretch your tent curtains wide, do not hold back; lengthen your cords, strengthen your stakes.  Isaiah 54:1-10

Ansel Mikkel Helzer was born early Friday am, son to Sean & Michelle Helzer…AND grandson to Opa and Oma Helzer.    What an experience that last few days have been.  Lots of logistics especially for mommy and daddy, but everything will fall into place as the days go by.

Miss Bailey Helzer, daughter of Brad and Rachel Helzer,  is expected to arrive within the next week or two.  We are on pins and needles waiting for the big day!

My biggest surprise has been the depth of love and purpose that has dropped into my heart for these little ones arriving in our family.  I expected the excitement of buying clothes, helping to get the rooms ready, and watching our sweet daughters-with-love grow in their bellies.  What I didn’t expect something that has been happening all along but I was unaware of.  There has been a growing love for each of these babies, individually.  I have prayed and dreamed about what they would be like…not just their looks, but who they will become as people.  Yes, the fullness of that is a very long way away, but my heart is expectant to see what God does in their lives and the lives of their parents.

I would suppose each grandparent has a different experience when meeting their grandchildren for the first time.  My meeting Ansel, holding , and kissing him introduced me to an unexpected emotional/spiritual new journey.  It’s as if the bottom fell out of what I have known the depth of the love I have for my family…and now there is now a deeper place of exploring this new-found relationship of love.

If I had expected this deeper place I would have thought it would be all about the new babies, but no it’s deeper that even that!  This new place is all about the years and years of prayer, hopes, dreams, and desires for the family as a whole.  The babies are the beginning of that new place.  My heart is profoundly overwhelmed with God’s love for me, for all of us.  I can see places to explore my relationship with him, which I didn’t even know existed.  My heart has grown larger as the Lord has tucked them into my heart, but I know there is much more room for more spouses and more grandbabies. When God expands our tents there is no end to what he can do if we yield to what he wants.

What is God wanting to expand in your life?  What does he want to bless you with, but you know there is a journey ahead you are not sure you want to take?  Is there something in your heart that has gentle burned in you and has waited for you to yield it to the Father to breathe life into it? Enlarging our tents is a messie business and takes time, but each time I have followed…(sometimes whining) it has been worth all the mess of the work.

I am under NO delusion this new journey will be easy. It already isn’t.  But anything worthy, of our King and Lord’s involvement in our lives is worth whatever we is required of us.  I will need all of him to walk out this journey and whatever else he has for me in these latter years of my life, but I am willing to put my hand in his and see where he leads.

There is more to the scripture I began with, much of which touches me in my private inner places with the Lord and I am sure many of you have held these scriptures in your hearts too…. but I am impressed to conclude by sharing more of it….

Isaiah 54:1-10   The Future Glory of Zion

1 “Sing, barren woman,
   you who never bore a child;
burst into song, shout for joy,
   you who were never in labor;
because more are the children of the desolate woman
   than of her who has a husband,”
            says the LORD.
2 “Enlarge the place of your tent,
   stretch your tent curtains wide,
   do not hold back;
lengthen your cords,
   strengthen your stakes.
3 For you will spread out to the right and to the left;
   your descendants will dispossess nations
   and settle in their desolate cities.

4 “Do not be afraid; you will not be put to shame.
   Do not fear disgrace; you will not be humiliated.
You will forget the shame of your youth
and remember no more the reproach of your widowhood.
5 For your Maker is your husband—
   the LORD Almighty is his name—
the Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer;
   he is called the God of all the earth.
6 The LORD will call you back
   as if you were a wife deserted and distressed in spirit—
a wife who married young,
   only to be rejected,” says your God.
7 “For a brief moment I abandoned you,
   but with deep compassion I will bring you back.
8 In a surge of anger
   I hid my face from you for a moment,
but with everlasting kindness
   I will have compassion on you,”
   says the LORD your Redeemer.

Biblegateway.com

2 Comments

Filed under Change, Confidence, Daughters-with-love, Dreams, Faithfulness, Family, Family Relationships, God, Heart, Heart Challenges, Prayer, Process of Life, Trust

2 responses to “One here…one to go….

  1. Love seeing the dream, the prayer, come to life in a new life (and lives). Such an honor to be a witness to it :)

  2. Marky Gilbert

    This is my fave! Go Oma! I can go here with you so easily! Thank you!
    Marky

Leave a Reply

